Mr Kemp NZ

What is School? “Teacher Vulnerability”

#whatisschool is ready to talk about teacher vulnerability this week as we welcome the incredible Ellen Deem and Mark Weston to lead the chat while Craig is away the next few weeks spending some time with the new addition to his family.

Every teacher, in a variety of ways, is a warrior for learning. Using teacher strengths, they courageously combat ignorance, illiteracy, and inequality. Unfortunately, no teacher is invincible. Like Achilles, the mythic Greek warrior, every teacher has a vulnerability—an Achilles heel. This week, join #whatisschool with Ellen Deem, Mark Weston and teachers throughout the Twitterverse for a fun and informative exploration of Strengths and Vulnerabilities of Teaching.

Remember that our chat times for around the world are: (updated 1 March 2018)

  • Thursday 3pm Pacific Time
  • Thursday 5pm Central Time
  • Thursday 6pm ET 
  • Thursday 11pm GMT
  • Friday 12am CET
  • Friday 7am Singapore/Manila/WA (Perth)
  • Friday 10am AEDT
  • Friday 12pm NZT

NEXT WEEK OUR CHAT MOVES TO 7 PM ET TO MATCH CHANGE IN TIMEZONES – THE TIMEZONE CHANGE ONLY EFFECTS THOSE IN NORTH AMERICA.

Make sure you put this week’s chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you an email or a FREE SMS just before our chat begins :)

Join the conversation on Thursday 8 March 6pm ET (Thursday 11pm GMT, Friday 10am AEDT, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool

Questions #whatisschool, March 8, 2018 6PM EDT

1) As a teacher, what are your unique strengths?
2) Please share an example of how you recently used one of your unique ‘teacher strength’ to fight for student learning or combat ignorance, illiteracy, and inequality.
3) Reflecting on your teaching, in what ways are you vulnerable?
4) How are you addressing or compensating for your vulnerabilities?
5) Sometimes, a colleague sees a vulnerability of ours that we do not see. In such instances, what would you want the colleague to do?
6) As a result of this chat, what will you do differently with your strengths and vulnerabilities, and those of your colleagues?

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...