Mr Kemp

What is School? “Artificial Intelligence – disastrous or not?”

#whatisschool is a force in motion – with almost 100 passionate educators coming together to discuss educational topics EVERY week from EVERY corner of the globe. Truly inspirational!
This week will be just as big as #whatisschool welcomes the team from one of Asia’s largest educational conferences – 21st Century Learning. Michael Boll and Justin Hardman will be joining me as we talk about Artificial Intelligence and the automation of jobs. In addition to the chat there is a MASSIVE prize up for grabs, just for taking part (read on to find out more).

“In a column in The Guardian, the world-famous physicist wrote that ‘the automation of factories has already decimated jobs in traditional manufacturing, and the rise of artificial intelligence is likely to extend this job destruction deep into the middle classes, with only the most caring, creative or supervisory roles remaining.’”

Prior to the chat be sure to pre-read this piece from Stephen Hawking about Artificial Intelligence and the automation of jobs – http://uk.businessinsider.com/stephen-hawking-ai-automation-middle-class-jobs-most-dangerous-moment-humanity-2016-12

Join us this week as #whatisschool narrows down to artificial intelligence and its positive and negative impacts on education and learning.

Join us this week for #whatisschool – Thursday 6pm ET, Friday 7am Singapore/Hong Kong, 10am Sydney, 12pm New Zealand.

Remember that our chat times for around the world are:

  • Thursday 3pm Pacific Time
  • Thursday 5pm Central Time
  • Thursday 6pm ET 
  • Thursday 11pm GMT
  • Friday 12am CET
  • Friday 7am Singapore/MYT/WA (Perth) Time
  • Friday 10am AEDT
  • Friday 12pm NZT

In this collaborative chat with the team at 21st Century Learning we are excited to announce an amazing prize that will be randomly drawn and awarded to one of our chat participants this week. All you have to do is join the chat using the hashtag #whatisschool. One lucky person will walk away with a ticket to the 21st Century Learning Global edLeadership Summit in Bangkok, Thailand from 20-22 April 2017. The prize is valued at US$675 (does not include flights or accommodation). For more information about the conference visit http://www.gels.asia/

Make sure you put this week’s chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you an email or a FREE SMS just before our chat begins :)

Join the conversation on Thursday 9 February at 6pm ET (Thursday 11pm GMT, Friday 10am AEDT, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool

Questions #whatisschool, February 9, 2017 6PM EDT

1) Is Stephen Hawking right?

2) If Stephen Hawking is right, what caring, creative or supervisory roles should we prepare our students for?

3) How can schools keep up with the accelerating pace of change?

4) What are some examples of educational innovation that are promising to tackle the rapidly changing world?

5) What elements of teaching will be automated, if any?

6) What would a classroom look like today if it was preparing for the coming change acceleration?

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...