Mr Kemp NZ

Using the Remind app to get connected

I often get asked about the success of the #whatisschool chat that Laura Hill and I created to provide educators a space to share their ideas and unbiased opinions about different education-related themes every Thursday at 7pm ET (11pm GMT, Fri 7am Singapore/Perth, Fri 9am AEST, Fri 11am NZT).

One of the tools that I use to help keep people connected to the amazing #whatisschool community is the Remind app.

Remind is an application that is a safe way for teachers to text message students and stay in touch with parents. A lot of educators use the FREE Remind tool to engage their parents and students in learning.

rebrand-tagline

After seeing the application in action at a school, I decided that it was an amazing tool to engage ANY community. It was the perfect tool for #whatisschool AND of course, any other Twitter Chat!

Several months ago I signed up for a FREE Remind account and set up my ‘class’ as ‘#whatisschool‘. It took me less than a minute to do this and then I was able to share the link with the #whatisschool community.

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 4.07.07 PM

Over the past 6-8 months, we have been sharing the link to sign up to our FREE reminders and we now have over 400 members of our ‘classroom’. Every week these ‘subscribers’ get FREE text OR email messages reminding them of the chat questions and giving them reminders of when the chat is starting. I also use this to send out the archive of the chat to the subscribers. Members can easily unsubscribe as well with the click of a button.

If you run a twitter chat or currently partake in a twitter chat that doesn’t use Remind sign up to a FREE account or encourage the moderators to do so by sending them this link.

If you are not signed up to the FREE #whatisschool reminders click here –> https://www.remind.com/join/whatiss

Remind is an incredible FREE resource that I highly recommend for twitter chat engagement and for use in schools!

Enjoy!

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...