Mr Kemp

What is School? Re-Vitalising Your PLN

What happens when your PLN gets out-of-synch?

This week#whatisschool takes a look at PLN’s (Personal/Professional Learning Network) and what happens when their is conflict within your learning network. We discuss ways of identifying problems, ways we can help each other out and ways of resolving the barriers to highly productive PLN’s that we all seek.

Unfortunately I am unable to moderate #whatisschool this week as I am in Sydney to Keynote the Future Schools conference. In addition to this, I am running workshops in some Sydney schools which clashes with #whatisschool. It is such an exciting opportunity to network, get connected and share my passion.

In my absence I have called upon 2 gentlemen who inspire engage and enlighten their PLN’s every day! Mark Weston and Greg Curran. Please make them feel welcome – I know you will have an inspiring chat and I can’t wait to see the archive. This week I won’t be able to publish the archive.

Please also be aware, if you are in USA, to the change of time (this does not impact other timezones). Daylight savings change to time means that #whatisschool is now on at 7pm EDT – looking forward to seeing more people present at this more suitable time. Our chat times for around the world are:

  • Thursday 3pm Pacific Time
  • Thursday 5pm Central Time
  • Thursday 7pm EDT
  • Thursday 11pm GMT
  • Friday 7am Singapore Time
  • Friday 9am AEST (changes to 10am soon)
  • Friday 12pm NZT (Changes to 11am soon)

PLN conflict

This week at #whatisschool we explore your PLN, identify potential issues and give you the opportunity to share your stories and strategies for dealing with potential conflict. Make sure you join Mark and Greg on Thursday 12 March at 7pm EDT (Thursday 11pm GMT, Friday 9am AEST, Friday 12pm NZT, Friday 7am Singapore).

Make sure you put this weeks chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you a FREE email or a FREE SMS just before our chat begins :)

Join the conversation on Thursday 12 March at 7pm EDT (Thursday 11pm GMT, Friday 9am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool

What happens when your PLN gets out-of-synch?

Questions #whatisschool, March 12, 2015 7PM EDT

Q1)  What attributes make for a Healthy & Productive PLN? What 2 attributes do you seek in a PLN?

Q2) In a Healthy & Productive PLN what responsibilities should members have? Do rules help or hurt?

Q3)  What are the key DOs & DON’Ts for PLN members? Give examples & tell us why…

Q4) What are the tell tale signs that a PLN has become dysfunctional? What can you do to help?

Q5) For Social Media based PLN’s, what options do people have for resolving issues that arise?

Q6) How can we ensure that all members of a PLN have a voice, are heard & issues are addressed & resolved?

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...