Mr Kemp NZ

What is School? Future Classrooms

How will classrooms change in the future?

Two roads converged in the forest, one well worn, and the other less trodden.  Which path leads to happiness, success, and fulfilment?  Which is full of danger, intrigue, and the unimaginable?

Which one is right, which one is wrong, the answer may surprise you!  This week #whatisschool takes a look at the less traveled path as we re-imagine the future of classrooms.

“Learning happens spontaneously in these purposefully chaotic environments.”- Sugata Mitra

In his school in the cloud Sugata Mitra promotes a methodology of learning driven by “a global community that connects Self-Organised Learning Environments in an organic movement towards a more inclusive, universal education.” While this sounds like a mouthful the basic premise of a SOLE or Self Organized Learning Environment is to let students collaborate, use the internet and learn in their own style, teaching each other while being gently prodded by an adult mentor.  To accomplish this Mitra combines a new attitude toward designing classrooms and toward teaching methodology.  As children continue to gain voice and focus their talents at increasingly younger ages on solving real world problems, how will you change your classroom and your mindset?

future-classroom-1-500x375

This week at #whatisschool we explore the changing nature of our future classrooms. Make sure you join us on Thursday 5 March at 6pm EST (Friday 9am AEST, Friday 12pm NZT, Friday 7am Singapore).

Make sure you put this weeks chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you a FREE email or a FREE SMS just before our chat begins :)

Join the conversation on Thursday 5 March at 6pm EST (Friday 9am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool

How will classrooms change in the future?

Questions #whatisschool, March 5, 2015 6PM EST

Q1)  How would you re-imagine your classroom to create a SOLE learning environment?

Q2) What new topics can you imagine teaching in 20 years?

Q3)  How will the classroom environment need to change to teach these topics?

Q4) How does technology fit into your new classroom?

Q5) How does nature and collaborative space fit into your classroom?

Q6) How can you include student voice in growing a futuristic classroom and mindset?

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

1 CommentLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...