Mr Kemp

What is School? School Culture

What kind of culture are you creating in your school?

What is shaping the culture at your school high states testing, standards and fear, or habits and values like curiosity, initiative, perseverance and creativity? Which are the real indicators of personal ability to achieve success?  How is it affecting students, educators and parents?

schoolculture

This week at #whatisschool we explore School Culture and ask the questions that need to be asked! Make sure you join us on Thursday 12 February at 6pm EST (Friday 9am AEST, Friday 12pm NZT, Friday 7am Singapore).

Joshua Katz, a High School math teacher from Florida opened his TEDx talk with this message:

Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by it’s ability to climb a tree it will live its whole life believing it is stupid… Right now the public narrative in education is all about school, teachers and curriculum. We need to start focusing on our students and who they are.”

So how can we create a school culture that focuses on students and who they are? This week #whatisschool challenges you to take a critical look at the culture at your school.  You may surprised at what you find.

Make sure you put this weeks chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you a FREE email or a FREE SMS just before our chat begins :)

Join the conversation on Thursday 12 February at 6pm EST (Friday 9am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool
Questions For #Whatisschool
Thursday February 12, 6PM EST

1) What kind of a school culture should you aim to build? What is needed for this to happen?

2) How can school culture be co-held by students? Should it embrace technology used in their daily lives?

3) How will school culture need to change as digital natives enter the education workforce?

4) What is needed to build an open active learning environment with room for questioning, thinking & growing together?

5) How are you integrating parent’s values and culture into your school culture?

6) How can your culture change to make your school a fear free place of learning, acceptance and growth?

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...