Mr Kemp NZ

What is School? Creating A Global Collaboration Project

Please remember that #whatisschool has been nominated in 2 categories in the EduBlog Awards 2014. We are so honoured to have your support and hope that you will give us your vote by following this link and following the instructions – http://mrkempnz.com/2014/12/the-edublog-awards-nominated.html 

Voting closes 11.59pm on December 15 EST so please cast your vote today. Thank you in advance and please feel free to share with your friends, family and colleagues – we appreciate your support!

 

Creating A Global Collaboration Project

Join the conversation on #whatisschool this Thursday December 11 at 6PM EST (Friday 9am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss global collaborative projects and how to go about using and creating them.

GCP

Global collaboration is a buzzword in education conjuring up images of children using instant imaging to join classrooms halfway around the world or authors and experts sharing their experiences with large audiences in remote locations.  But recently it has become much more. Collaborative projects augmented by technology have transformed classrooms and communities around the world by taking ideas and bringing them to life. So how do educators set up successful global collaborations?

“We can learn from each other and so enrich our own lives. We need not all be equal in order to live together. And sometimes we are more equal than we want to admit it.” –The Inside Out Project

1111

The Inside Out Project focuses on using artistic expression to create great collaborations.  This building in Wupperthal, Germany was covered in portraits as part of the Different Views Project, which promotes racial tolerance by using photographs to bring together people of different ethnicities, religion, culture and origin.  The hope? To show that being different opens up more possibilities for all of us and should be celebrated.

2222

Join us today at #whatisschool as we delve deeper into global collaborative projects.

Make sure you put this weeks chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you a FREE email or a FREE SMS just before our chat begins :)

Join the conversation on Thursday, December 11, 6pm EST (Friday 9am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool

Questions For #Whatisschool 

Thursday December 11, 6PM EST

1) How can global communication be used to share teaching expertise throughout a student body or global community?

2) What lesson would you add an aspect of global collaboration to?

3) How can you use modern and traditional communication to gain support, interaction and feedback from your community?

4) How could the learning environment be changed to create your ideal global classroom, what tools would you need?

5) What experiences, successes or failures do you anticipate collaborating on a global scale would bring, what would students learn?

6) Can you initiate a student led collaborative project or challenge with your class using global collaboration to solve it?

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...