Mr Kemp NZ

What is School? Who’s Pulling the Strings?

Who’s Pulling the Strings?

Join the conversation on #whatisschool this Thursday October 30 at 7PM EST (Friday 10am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss who we think is really pulling the strings in our organisations.]

Over the past few weeks we’ve discussed many ways to strengthen student experience using modern methods and technology to build skills for a workforce that doesn’t yet exist. But what if the industry you work in has other objectives?  Are the stakeholders students, parents and teachers or is somebody else pulling the strings?

thomas frey futurist

Thomas Frey – Futurist

Thomas Frey, a senior Futurist a the DaVinci Institute, a Colorado Think Tank, had this to say:

Colleges are in the business of selling classes. Students are in the business of gaining marketable skills. These are two radically different objectives…Business professionals in the future will require twice as much training as their counterparts today, just to stay competitive.  As we move further towards a globally competitive workforce, competition will stiffen, and our need to shift gears will happen at a moment’s notice. We will no longer have the time and place luxuries of waiting for the right opportunity for education to happen”

So how can teachers help students gain the skills they need while working with tools designed to make profits?

Make sure you put this weeks chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you a FREE email or a FREE SMS just before our chat begins :)
Join the conversation on Thursday, October 30, 7pm EST (Friday 10am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool

Questions For #Whatisschool 

Thursday October 30, 7PM EST

1) How have pre-designated tools helped or hurt your ability to teach students 21st century skills?

2) What technologies have you employed that best suit the needs of building 21st century skills?

3) How can out-of-the-box teaching methodology nurture students to be thinkers and creators?

4) What forces work in opposition to teaching students effectively?

5) What role should budgets and business play in determining what and how students are taught?

6) How can you foster 21st century learning with the tools at hand? What, if anything, needs to change?

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...