Mr Kemp NZ

What is School? Opportunities

Which Students Get The Best Opportunities? 

Join the conversation on #whatisschool this Thursday October 23 at 7PM EDT (Friday 10am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we examine the goals behind the goals of learning and how to help students build their portfolios while developing their passions and maintaining the performance records academics demand.

WISOct23

Everyone knows the formula to scholastic success; work hard, create a resume of clubs, sports, activities and charities you’ve led, maintain a high grade average, right? Perhaps not. In an interview conducted by The Atlantic this past June, Drew Gilpin Faust, President of Harvard University, had this to say:

“We could fill our class twice over with valedictorians… make your children interesting!”

harvard

Drew Gilpin Faust, President of Harvard University

Make sure you put this weeks chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you a FREE email or a FREE SMS just before our chat begins :)
Join the conversation on Thursday, October 23, 7pm EDT (Friday 10am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool
Questions for #whatisschool – Thursday, October 23
Q1) Is it more important for students to excel at their passions or excel on tests? Why?
Q2) What learning styles can you employ to help students develop personal talents while maintaining high grades?
Q3) How can you implement programs using real world experience to foster multidimensional student experience?
Q4) What technological tools or experiences can you provide to help students nurture their voice & influence in the real world?
Q5) How can you increase stakeholder buy-in to implement real world programs that improve your community?
Q6) What can you do to help make your students ‘interesting’ to increase their opportunities after graduation?

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...