Mr Kemp NZ

What is School? Homework

Homework and Learning – Is it relevant in the 21st Century world we live in? #whatisschool

Join the conversation on #whatisschool this Thursday October 16 at 7PM EDT (Friday 10am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss Homework, Learning and its relevance in education.
homework
Children learn in many different ways, through play, lessons, repetitive drills, critical thinking and problem solving. But where does homework fit into all of this? Are the lessons learned in school being reinforced or are we taking away time from personal growth that would lower stress, increase grades and add to family time by providing more opportunity for play, conversation and invention? This week #whatisschool examines the association between learning, testing, homework and play by exploring what works and what doesn’t in schools around the world.

Alfie Kohn, author of thirteen books on education and parenting had this to say…

Make sure you put this weeks chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you an email or an SMS just before our chat begins :)
Join the conversation on Thursday, October 16, 7pm EDT (Friday 10am AEST, 12pm NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool

Questions for #whatisschool – Thursday, October 16
Q1) Do students learn by doing homework? Why is it given?
Q2) Would student learning increase or decrease with more time for exploration, play & peer interaction during or after school?
Q3) What impact does class size, differentiated leaning & free time have on student success?
Q4) How can technology be used in student learning after school?
Q5) Does standardised testing help students learn? Does it help teachers teach?
Q6) If you could change one thing immediately to increase student success and your ability to teach, what would it be?
Thank You!
For making #whatisschool the #1 trending edchat.
Co-moderated by children’s book author and edu speaker Laura Hill @candylandcaper and international educator Craig Kemp @Mrkempnz  Please contact either of us with your questions and ideas, we’d love to hear from you!

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...