Mr Kemp NZ

What is School? How will you change?

Education – How will you change? #whatisschool

Join the conversation on #whatisschool this Thursday September 4 at 7PM EDT (Friday 9am AEST, 11am NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss creating change in education.
Lately, global discussions with educators have focussed on many exciting innovations happening in teaching, including technology, methodology and implementation of classroom design. But for every good idea or opportunity conversations suggest an equally bad result if changes in education aren’t treated with focus and thoughtfulness regarding the purpose of the education itself.  Roughly half the students in current teaching systems are under prepared, or under challenged by the curriculum. Add to the thought that we are training students for opportunities in a world in which only 40% of the jobs currently available will remain in existence.  With more and more strategies cropping up for alternative education and completely new school models, how will you change?  


Make sure you put this weeks chat in your diary and if you are not already signed up to our ‘Remind’ notifications – click here. We will send you an email or an SMS just before our chat begins 🙂

Join the conversation on Thursday, September 4, 7pm EDT (Friday 9am AEST, 11am NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool 


The questions for this week’s discussion are below:

Q1) Assuming half your students won’t be prepared for the workforce after education, what can you do to change it?

Q2) What is the critical skill you are not able to teach that would change student’s futures for the better?

Q3) How can you use technology or modern methodology to better prepare students for jobs & higher education?

Q4) How can you use global components & real world experience to enhance learning for unchallenged students?

Q5) What is one thing you would ask of administrators in order to accomplish the goals set in questions 3 or 4?

Q6) If your child was in school today what skills would you want them to have upon graduation?
Thank You!
For making #whatisschool the #1 trending edchat.

Co-moderated by children’s book author and edu speaker Laura Hill @candylandcaper and international educator Craig Kemp @Mrkempnz  Please contact either of us with your questions and ideas, we’d love to hear from you!

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...