Mr Kemp

What is School? Be A Now-ist: Implementing Your PLN In The Classroom

Be A Now-ist: Implementing Your PLN In The Classroom


Join the conversation on #whatisschool this Thursday August 21 at 7PM EDT (Friday 9am AEST, 11am NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss implementing your PLN in you classroom.

For the past few weeks we have been talking about global classrooms and the conversation has brought about innovative ideas for using methodology and technology to create an experiential learning space for students. As the school year has just started, or is about to start for many educators, we move the discussion into the classroom.

When Joi Ito needed to solve the problem of disaster information disbursement he didn’t turn to business, he turned to the internet and found people who could solve his problem right now.  Each week thousands of educators do the same, meeting with their PLNs to share ideas and create solutions to some of their most pressing educational problems, but what then?  Is implementing a great idea as easy as creating it?  Join #whatisschool Thursday, August 21 at 7PM EDT as we tackle the problem of implementing PLN ideas in your class, school and district-wide curriculum, and explore the effects a ‘now-ist’ attitude can have on your teaching and your students as they prepare for work in a marketplace that no longer follows the rules.


Join the conversation on Thursday, August 21, 7pm EDT (Friday 9am AEST, 11am NZT, 7am Singapore) as we discuss What Is School? #whatisschool 

The questions for this week’s discussion are below:

Q1) What social media channels do you use in your PLN and what are the pros and cons of each?

Q2) How would classroom dynamics change if you had support from everyone to implement ideas generated in your PLN?

Q3) What innovations would you create if you had a regional PLN that inspired teamwork & problem solving? How would integrating your global PLN help?

Q4) What successes & stumbling blocks have you encountered implementing chat ideas in your classroom, school or district?

Q5) How can using a ‘now-ist’ approach in your PLN strengthen your curriculum to better prepare students for a global workplace?

Q6) How can you integrate the PLN model into student learning?

Co-moderated by children’s book author and edu speaker Laura Hill @candylandcaper and international educator Craig Kemp @Mrkempnz  Please contact either of us with your questions and ideas, we’d love to hear from you!

About author View all posts Author website

Craig Kemp

Craig Kemp

I am a passionate Head of Educational Technology at a large International School in Singapore. I am a lifelong learner, dream creator and thought leader. I love to inspire others and find inspiration. Co-founder of #whatisschool, #asiaED edchats and #pubPD.

Have something to say?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...